Moderator Control Panel ]

3rd Bn Oxfordshire LI - puzzling service record

Having trouble tracking down a wartime ancestor? Share your queries – and help fellow researchers – here

3rd Bn Oxfordshire LI - puzzling service record

Postby Pantgwyn » Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:08 am

I've just downloaded from Findmypast the military service record of my ancestor Daniel Curtain. I'm thrilled to have found it, but am baffled by contradictory information which it contains.

My ancestor was born in April 1870 in London. He was a boot or shoe maker by trade.

When he first joined the militia, early in 1892, he said that he was 18 years and 9 months old and was born in Chesham, Bucks. Both wrong (he was really 21) - although he does state that he is a 'shoe rivetter', which fits. However, eight years later, in his 'Attestation for the Militia Reserve' statement, he gives his age as 29 years and 9 months and his birthplace as London. This IS correct, and he gives the correct next of kin too (his father, Bartholomew).

I did wonder whether two military records might have been conflated, but I don't think this is the case. The service number is the same and the physical descriptions are virtually identical (the only difference is that in 1900 he was one-quarter of an inch taller!).