Moderator Control Panel ]

Uniform Identification

Have you got problems identifying people or buildings in a photograph? Share your photo queries with other users

Uniform Identification

Postby RuthLoach » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:29 pm

Hello Everyone

Does anyone know what this uniform is? My mother recently gave me a mountain of paperwork and photo's and I found this picture amongst them. I have no idea or stories relating to my grandfather being in the military so I would be very grateful if anyone could help me solve a bit of the mystery.

Kind Regards

Ruth Loach
Attachments
Grandad Walter Loach.jpg
Grandad Walter Loach.jpg (159.21 KiB) Viewed 5116 times
RuthLoach

Re: Uniform Identification

Postby phsvm » Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:01 pm

Firstly, let me say I have no knowledge of uniforms but my immediate reaction to this photo was that it was nautical. Was your grandfather ever involved with an occupation that had anything to do with water, for example, harbour master, customs officer, lock keeper, Port of London employee? I know these all sound very generalised but I wonder if he wasn't necessarily 'military' but more an 'official' who required a uniform?

Of course I'm sure there's someone on the forum who will have much more knowledge of the subject than me but those were just my thoughts.
phsvm

Postby RuthLoach » Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:20 pm