Moderator Control Panel ]

Poor Law and elusive relative

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Poor Law and elusive relative

Postby clare_bear » Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:42 pm

Hi All

I'm new here and am a complete amateur at family history research! I've been doing it on and off for a few years and have a major stumbling block.

My great gran's birth certificate and therefore parents are proving quite elusive! Her name was Carrie Williams and she was supposedly born on the 9th Nov 1900, but this may be approximate, in or around Wendron, Cornwall. The problem is that we think her mum may have given her away. We know she was brought up by a lady called Fanny Allen (she is on the 1901 census as a boarder at Fanny's place in Helston, Cornwall) and it seems that Fanny took in children whose 'mother's didn't want them' (according to a relative of Fanny's). Fanny Allen was very poor (on 1901 census as a charwoman) and had quite a few children of her own, in addition to several she had taken in. There's no way she could have afforded to feed and clothe these children (and I know that they had very little growing up as Carrie told stories of what it was like to her daughter), so it is assumed she was paid to take in these boarder children, which probably helped her afford to feed her own children. Presumably this would come under some 'poor law' records or something like this? Any idea where I should be looking for info on payments received by Fanny by the parish as this seems to be my only lead at the moment.

Carrie was married in 1922 to James Harold Goldsworthy and died in 1988 in Gweek, Cornwall. She was a great lady and I'd love to be able to unravel this mystery for her daughter (my great aunt, who I'm very close too) as well as myself.

Any advice on where to go next or how to find out about any Poor Law records would be very welcome.

Thanks
clare_bear

Re: Poor Law and elusive relative