Moderator Control Panel ]

Wow what an ancestor!

Talk about Davina McCall's episode of the show

Wow what an ancestor!

Postby Editor » Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:26 pm

I really enjoyed that episode. It seems amazing to me that Davina knew nothing about Celestin considering how famous he was in his day. I even got the impression at the end that her mother hadn't known anything about him. I wonder if we can get Davina to feature him in our 'family hero' section in the magazine... hey ho, wishful thinking.

Don't forget if you missed the episode you can watch it on iPlayer or they are going to repeat it next Tuesday at 7pm on BBC2.

Sarah
Editor
Site Admin

Re: Wow what an ancestor!

Postby worrals » Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:33 am

Really enjoyed the episode.
I would be interested in a follow up by Davina for the magazine. I enjoyed Esther Rantzen's.
worrals

Postby Editor » Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:01 pm

We were very lucky to get Esther Rantzen to write for the magazine. As a journalist by profession, she was keen to write up her own experiences. Not sure if we will have as much luck with other celebrities, but it is certainly worth asking.

Sarah
Editor
Site Admin

Postby Ladkyis » Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:47 pm

I enjoyed this episode, It was good to see how proud Davina was of her ancestors.

All these TV personalities make being in front of the camera look so easy, as if it is the most natural thing in the world. When I was filmed for BBC Wales "Look UP Your Genes" my tummy was churning and when I had to ask a question I could hear myself squeaking in fright! I have the greatest admiration for the celebrities who are, after all, exposing something very personal when what they usually do is act as another character in front of the camera.