Moderator Control Panel ]

Gifford of Exeter

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Gifford of Exeter

Postby Vondick » Fri Mar 06, 2020 1:46 pm

I have been researching the Gifford family for a few years and have lots of information about them. However, I wonder if anyone can help me with a problem I have concerning two younger members of the family. Henry Gifford, died 1794 in Martinique and his brother, Samuel, died 1797 in Bermuda. (They are the cousins of Lord Robert Gifford, Master of the Rolls). They are both remembered on the tomb of their father, William Gifford, and their grandparents, William and Honor Gifford, in the Exeter Dissenters Graveyard but, obviously, are not buried there. Henry was an Army Ensign in the 17th Regiment of Foot and Samuel too was in the Army. Does anyone know where I might find more information about specific fighting events leading to their deaths and where there may be particular information about them, e.g where they were buried etc.?
Vondick

Re: Gifford of Exeter

Postby MoVidger » Fri Mar 06, 2020 3:51 pm

Can't offer anything as regards burials or causes of death, but there are two military promotions mentioned for a Henry Gifford:

Kentish Gazette 29 April 1788
"70th Regiment of Foot: Mr Henry Gifford to be Ensign".

Kentish Gazette 27 May 1791
"70 Reg of Foot: Ensign Henry Gifford to be Lieut."

Also, you may have already seen this online Gifford family history:
http://www.edgt.org.uk/uploads/3/4/6/9/ ... g_2017.pdf

It mentions both Henry and Samuel ("He may have been in the navy, or working there in another capacity, or had gone there for trading purposes")
MoVidger

Postby Vondick » Fri Mar 06, 2020 4:53 pm