Moderator Control Panel ]

Eveling family

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Eveling family

Postby Hbhnewcastle » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:09 am

Hello I am an experienced researcher but new to this forum. Could anyone please help with the Eveling family of Hannover. Diedrich came to England from Hannover about 1840. He married in 1844 in London and I have the family after that. His father also Diedrich was born in Hannover about 1790 and married an Irish lady called Ann. Any information or help greatly appreciated. Regards John

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Who Do You Think You Are? Magazine Forum mobile app
Hbhnewcastle

Re: Eveling family

Postby MoVidger » Sat Aug 03, 2019 10:40 pm

I've had a quick look at the 1841-1881 census records in East London which feature Diedrich Aveling (born 1817 Hanover), occupation: 'sugar baker'. (Note to forum members: surname is "Carling" in the 1851 census).

Have you located any records for his father Diederich/Diedrich? If so, which records indicate he was from Hannover and/or born about 1790? Do you know where or when he died?

Also, have your found a c1817 birth/baptism record for son Diedrich?

In case you haven't already seen it, this link provides very helpful information about Germans working in the sugar industry in East London in the 18th and 19th centuries. https://feefhs.org/emigration-anglo-ger ... background

"From the late 18th century, the main sugar refining companies were in German hands and they preferred to import German labourers to work for them. They came mainly via Hamburg where the British Consul often acted as agent for the Companies. There are no records giving details of where these "sugar bakers" or "sugar refiners" came from but they can often be found in the local East London church registers or the 10 year censuses".
MoVidger

Postby MoVidger » Sun Aug 04, 2019 2:50 pm