Moderator Control Panel ]

1911 Census signature.

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

1911 Census signature.

Postby PeteC25 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:17 am

I am fairly new to researching my family. I was under the impression that the head of the household, if present, was meant to sign the form. At 55 Ellerby Street, Fulham. The Gibbs family are mostly there, including the head who's occupation is a " Clerk so can write but it is signed by the eldest son! Is there a valid reason that this could occur?

Sent from my SM-A310F using Who Do You Think You Are? Magazine Forum mobile app
PeteC25

Re: 1911 Census signature.

Postby AdrianB38 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:54 pm

Hm. Good question. http://histpop.org/ohpr/servlet/PageBrowser?path=Browse/TNA%20Census%20-%20Other%20(by%20date)&active=yes&mno=3190&tocstate=expandnew&display=sections&display=tables&display=pagetitles&pageseq=2 contains an image of the reverse of the Householder's Schedule with, I presume, all the instructions that the "householder" ever got.

It starts by saying:
This Schedule must be filled up and signed by, or on behalf of, the Head of the Family ...

(My emphasis). So that doesn't even say that the Head must fill it in if they are there - just that if they don't, the job is still being done on their behalf, leaving them still with the overall responsibility, if not the pen in their hand.