Moderator Control Panel ]

Help a newbie? William Wilson b Nov 1764 Dumfrieshire

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Help a newbie? William Wilson b Nov 1764 Dumfrieshire

Postby zarasdreamz » Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:11 pm

I have been researching my family tree. I’m a complete novice, but using a family bible, Find My Past and Scottish People I have managed to trace my 4x GGrandfather on my fathers side. He was William Wilson born 11th November 1764 and married to Janet Boyes born 1779, married in Applegarth Dumfries on the 5th Sept 1797. They had 11 children , one of which (Henry ) was a master miller at Brydekirk Mill near Annan in Dumfriesshire. I’ve managed to get information about Henry my 3x GGF and family that came after. However, I can’t find anything else out about William and Janet or find any about their parents. Being a complete newbie to this I’m at a loss to know what to do next. Is it going to be unlikely that I can go any further back? Im sorry for the long post but any help or advice anyone could give would be so appreciated. I can’t see the wood for the trees now!

Thankyou
zarasdreamz

Re: Help a newbie? William Wilson b Nov 1764 Dumfrieshire

Postby Amazinggrace » Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:18 pm

Hi,
can I suggest you contact Dumfries and Galloway family History society.
They are very helpful friendly people.They can be contacted on www.dgfhs.org.uk
They have helped me enormously with my ancestors.
Good Luck
Grace :D
Amazinggrace

Postby zarasdreamz » Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:24 pm

Thankyou Grace I will do that.
zarasdreamz

Postby ciderdrinker » Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:56 am

Hello
There is a baptism at Applegarth
William Wilson 18 Nov 1764 s of William Wilson
and at Langholm

It looks like William may have been a widower when he married Janet in 1797.
Also at Applegarth
James Wilson son William 10.7.1789
Elizabeth 29 Nov 1790 d of William Wilson and Barbara Armstrong