Moderator Control Panel ]

Edward Skeffington Quinn, born Antrim 1842-44

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Edward Skeffington Quinn, born Antrim 1842-44

Postby RobRog » Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:48 pm

I have traced my family back as far as Edward Skeffington Quinn, who was a sergeant in first the 37th, and then the 62nd Regiments, and served extensively in India. Where we have been able to trace all his offspring.

However, I am struggling to get further in his history. His Marriage certificate suggests a birthdate of 1844, and lists his father, Patrick, as a 'gentleman'. His discharge records suggest he was born in 1842 in Antrim.

The 1861 census has a Pvt Edward Quinn born in 1842 in Colchester Barracks. (where the 37th Depot was based)

But beyond that things get sketchy. I'm new to this genealogy, and not sure what is a leap too far?

A Patrick Quinn married Jane Reid in Antrim in 1842 and the give birth to an Edward Quinn.

Should I be looking for this Patrick Quinn in the 37th Reg? There is one and his discharge records place him in Nova Scotia for 2 years and then Ceylon for 9. The movements of the 37th reg would fit with him being in Ireland during this period. Though the main depot was in Limerick and Tipperary.

(Interestingly Edward himself returns to Antrim for the 1871 census where he is seconded to the Depot there from the 37th. So, could Patrick be on secondment in Belfast? Is that a common thing?)

In 1843 the 37th are in Dublin, and in that year there is a record of death for a Jane Quinn.

The Patrick Quinn in the 37th would then have gone out to Ceylon via Chatham. If he did have a child would this child have gone to a poor house? There is a record for an Edward Quinn born 1842 in Ireland, in Central London District School in Croydon in the 1851 census.

The questions I have are?

Are these links a bit speculative?