Moderator Control Panel ]

When the trail runs cold....

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

When the trail runs cold....

Postby wildmagnolia » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:17 pm

I'm a novice researcher and would appreciate any tips on offer for a great uncle of mine, who my family lost contact with in 1944. Alfred Verran emigrated from the UK to Oregon, USA at the age of 21 in 1921 and wrote home regularly until 1944 when his letters suddenly stopped. Missing persons adverts placed in local newspapers shed no light. He was living with a host family of extended relatives in Oregon so it's very strange that no one got in touch with the UK side if he had met some fate.

I've exhausted online social security indexes, death records and census searches. The last known mention of him was in the 1940 USA census. I'm not the only member of my family who has tried (and failed) to find out what happened to him and can only presume he did die in or around 1944 - but why no record of his death?

All thoughts appreciated!

Jo
wildmagnolia

Re: When the trail runs cold....

Postby MoVidger » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:12 pm

Hi Jo - I see that Alfred is living in Clark, Washington in the 1940 census (hotel proprietor).

Could this be your Alfred in the United States Social Security Death Index ??

Name: Alfred Verran
Birth date: 20 June 1900
State: Washington
Last place of residence: Sunnyside, Yakima, Washington
Previous residence postal code: 98944
Event date: 2 Oct 1981

In the Washington Death Index, this chap is listed as Alfred C. Verran.
MoVidger

Postby meekhcs » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:17 pm

Jo
Is it your tree on Ancestry?

I have found the following using FMP and Ancestry

FMP 1940 US census
Living in La Center, Clark, Washington, United States and is a joint proprietor of a Hotel
The same census states that in 1935 he lived in Grant County Oregon and that he was born in England

Ancestry
Name: Alfred Verran