Moderator Control Panel ]

How do i know ?

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

How do i know ?

Postby TheViking » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:08 am

Hi members.

As you know I am pretty new to family research and at the moment I am finding it hard to trace an ancestor of mine. His name was George Patrick Conway he was born in 1883 from a 1911 census it says tullamore but I can not find anything regarding his birth or his parents. I know he must have relocated to Barnsley south Yorkshire and lived in Royston then shafton then thurnscoe where he sadly took his own life. I have a couple of questions members could possibly help me with.

They are results of a George Conway in Ireland but how do I know this is my George they have the same year of birth but are in different parts of Ireland ?

When searching the prison records there is also a George Conway he was in Australia and I have a mug shot and also a prison number but again how do I know this is George how do I find evidence that this face is 100% George. ? I am constantly sorting I am adding to looking at a picture that isn't the George I am looking for.

From a news paper clipping have found of his death he took his own life due to a head injury in the war now this must have been ww1 but gain they are Georges coming up but how do I know this is my George ?

In genealogy would you recommend when researching a family member do I start at the death and work back ? Or start at the birth and work forward ?

I would also like to know how I would trace his birth certificate from Ireland if I can not find any other documents. And again how do I know I am ordering the right certificate for my George if I don't know his parents. ?

Now I would like to apologise in advance as I do have alot questions I am really getting frustrated and starting to think the fee I pay find my past is a waist of time. Please help. Thank you
TheViking

Re: How do i know ?