Moderator Control Panel ]

New Genealogist

Share your thoughts with your fellow family historians – and the Who Do You Think You Are? Magazine team – here

New Genealogist

Postby Amazinggrace » Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:17 pm

Hi everyone,I have a friend who is about to embark on doing his family tree. I have been doing mine for some time. I have always used Scotlands people as my ancestors are all scottish,with a sprinkling of FS.My friends family are from Northants,Derbyshire and Staffs.What would be the best site for him?I have no experience of other sites. I would appreciate some feedback.
Thanks
Grace
Amazinggrace

Re: New Genealogist

Postby coopernicola » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:03 pm

To start definitely go and chat to any living elderly relatives asap! Put together a potential tree and make a plan to follow lines further back. With luck once family knowledge reaches back to 1911 Census documents can be used. The new GRO search facility helps with mothers maiden name listed to pin down family groups.
Check out FutureLearn they've just run the University of Strathclyde Genealogy course - it's six weeks, really good & free :)
Depending on where they live a visit to a local archive is always very worthwhile, the staff are usually most helpful.
For home searching try Family Search, it's very good for a variety of material and free to use. For subscription sites I would suggest a free trial of FMP & Ancestry (remember to stop automatic renewal). That way your friend can decide which they prefer. Look out for free or cheap monthly packages for British Newspaper Archive.
coopernicola

Postby AdrianB38 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:50 pm

For stuff back to 1837, either Ancestry or FindMyPast will do as they both have BMDs and censuses.

Any Army stuff is a bit more problematic - some stuff is on both, some on only one.