Moderator Control Panel ]

Ashwin

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Ashwin

Postby Gandalph » Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:50 pm

Good afternoon. I am an absolute novice in your field so, please, bear with me. I am trying to find out
all the information I can about my partner's grandfather. All I have is her maternal aunt's birth certificate and a business letter heading dating from 6th May 1923. This reads ASHWIN & Co,
Shipowners, Ship & Insurance Brokers, A.John Ashwin, Ass I.N.A.& c, & c,Sole Partner, LIcenced Valuer.
5 Billiter Street, London E.C.3 This is her maternal grandfather.
The birth certificate for Flora Itala Ashwin born on 3rd March 1907 gives the name of Albert John Ashwin, ship broker, and Florence Emma Ashwin formerly Botting living at 24 Hardres Street, Ramsgate.
All we know is that A. John Ashwin moved to France and appears to have vanished of the surface of
this planet.
I would welcome any help or advice you could give me. Thank you very much.
Gandalph
Progress is man's ability to complicate simplicity.
[Thor Heyerdahl]
Gandalph

Ashwin

Postby brunes08 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:01 pm

The family is still in Ramsgate on the 1911 census. As well as Flora (4yrs) there is also Vera (2yrs) and Guy Arthur Jones (14 yrs) listed as step-son. Albert is still listed as a ship broker.
I've tried finding a marriage for Albert and Florence but haven't been successful - using the surname Botting or even possibly Jones.
brunes08

Re: Ashwin

Postby sdup26 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:18 pm

In Hastings, Sussex, 1901, Arthur J Jones, a hotel keeper, lives with wife Florence b1877 in Ramsgate, and son Guy b1896, also in Ramsgate (mother's maiden name Botting). Arthur died in 1904.
sdup26

Postby sdup26 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:50 pm