Moderator Control Panel ]

Adopted Friend Needs To Trace His Mothers Family

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Adopted Friend Needs To Trace His Mothers Family

Postby Archieboy » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:22 pm

Hello everyone. I'm new to this so please bear with me. A friend of mine, Peter Salt, has asked me to try and help find about his birthmother and if she had any other family.

Peter was actually born Bernard Rodgers at Derby Women's Hospital on December 29, 1948. His birth certificate shows that he was the (illegitimate?) son of Elsie Rodgers, who was a resident of the Church of England Mother and Baby Unit on Vernon Street, Derby (next to the hospital), at the time. Elsie did not give her age or where she was from originally, but I am reliable informed that she was single (unmarried) at the time.

The Mother and Baby Unit apparently took in girls aged between fourteen and twenty-nine (14-29), so that would indicate that she was born at any time between 1919 and 1934.

We know very little more about Elsie other than the fact that she was living at 11, Darley Avenue, Darley Dale, near Matlock, Derbyshire, as of June 1949, and was then employed as a telephonist for the County Fire Service. However, I understand that the Fire Service County Archive would not allow access to their records as it could not be proven that Elsie was deceased.