Moderator Control Panel ]

Looking for a death record for Sylvia Cousins

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Looking for a death record for Sylvia Cousins

Postby debbie65 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:51 am

Hi everyone.

I've been working on my husband's family tree for a few years now, which has been interesting and fun, but finding a death record for his great aunt Sylvia Cousins has beaten me!

This is what I know:

She was born Sylvia Cousins 23rd May 1902 to Robert Arthur Cousins (a cabinet maker) and Caroline nee Potter in Bethnal Green, London.

She is on the 1911 census living with her parents and 7 siblings at 10 Chameleon Road, Tottenham.

She is a witness - on the wedding certificate - to her sister Caroline's second marriage in 1922.

She appears on the Electoral Roll returns a number of times (as Sylvia Cousins) up to 1939 and on the 1939 Register, living in Old Bethnal Green Road.

There is a photo of her attending the wedding of her niece in 1952 in Dagenham.

The problem for me is that something happened sometime in the 1960s and my husband's family became estranged. He doesn't know any details and now there is no-one left to ask about it. As far as my husband can remember Sylvia never married, and I have been unable to find a marriage record for her.

I've tried various search methods over the years, but I can't find a death record for her. I've concentrated on the London and Essex areas as that's where I've found records for other family members, but I've also looked further afield. If anyone has any ideas at all I'd be grateful to hear any of them as I'm well and truly stuck!

Many thanks for reading this.
debbie65

Re: Looking for a death record for Sylvia Cousins

Postby sdup26 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:13 pm

Could this be your Sylvia in the London Electoral Registers 1832-1965? Do the other names mean anything to you?
50 Haig Road, Hillingdon, Middlesex, 1956
Cyril R Cousins