Moderator Control Panel ]

Master mariner & ship lost at sea in 1830

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Master mariner & ship lost at sea in 1830

Postby loiseau22 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:06 pm

One of my ancestors - Nicholas Harvey (c1800-1830) - was a Master Mariner in the merchant service, latterly on the merchant ship "Cumberland".
Family legend had it that he and his wife died at sea.

Till the end of this month I have a £1 subscription to Find My Past, so have been working on the newspaper collection, and have found in Lloyds List several mentions of the comings and goings of the ship and her master, listed as: "Cumberland, Harvey".
He seems to have plied between Gravesend and different destinations, including Lisbon (Portugal), Gijon (northern Spain), and somewhere called St Michael's (not sure where this is - googling came up with Barbados, but as Harvey seemed to make return trips there within a month I don't think it can be that - can it?).

Eventually I found the sad news:
Lloyds List 10 Dec 1830
"The Cumberland, Harvey, sailed from Gijon on 17 Sept last for London, and has not since been heard of."

Is there any way that deaths of British nationals outside the UK would have been registered in 1830? I should like to confirm that his wife Elizabeth Harvey died too. (I believe it was not uncommon for the ship's Master to take his wife on voyages.)
Or anywhere else I could hope to find details of the ship and her crew - presumably insurance of the ship and her cargo was involved, and might yield some documentary evidence?

As some background, they married in 1826; had a son Nicholas Cumberland Harvey in early 1828 - who died in late 1829. (The child's second name must indicate Harvey's attachment to that ship, and that he had been captaining her since at least 1827.) So maybe that tragedy prompted Elizabeth to sail off to foreign parts with her husband.