Moderator Control Panel ]

Seeking papermaker ancestor

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Seeking papermaker ancestor

Postby Meg 78 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:36 pm

After over 40 years as a successful researcher I have been stuck with one frustrating problem for the same length of time.

details:Edward GREEN papermaker died Weston Rhyn Shropshire sept. 1797 (I have will)
Known facts: two daughters bap 1772 and 1774 at WARDEN MILL Northumberland where Edward was papermaker. Had sister Ann Green who married surname OLIVER.

Seeking: p.o.b. / bp/ parents. Will mentioned wife Eleanor but don't know her maiden name so can't find marriage, also was this a first or later wife?

Found a possible lead, but only a hypothesis at moment.
Details: John Green paper maker of Crofton Hackett Worcestershier apprenticed his son William GREEN to John COLE Tailor of Upton Warren Worcestershire indenture May 1716. A s this is my first credible encounter with a paper maker link I wonder if my Edward may be a grandson of John GREEN paper maker through his son William GREEN.

found a bap of an Edward to a William GREEN and Mary, Bromsgrove 10th May 1750 and also a marriage of an Edward GREEN to Ann SPENCER 27 Jan 1772 at Lee (with Bransford? Worces. Interestingly one of the witnesses was a john COLE (Grandson of the Tailor?) and possibly a relative?

As Edwards first dau was bp May 1772 in Northumberland papermill I am hoping that I might have struck lucky and that ANN might have been a first wife. Paper making was a peripatetic trade so a move from Worcs. to Northumberland would be feasible. PLEASE can anybody help?? or am I deluding myself. thank you Meg
Meg 78

Re: Seeking papermaker ancestor

Postby ciderdrinker » Sat Sep 03, 2016 11:23 am

Hello
I'm afraid I haven't got much but here's what I can find
Burial at Weston Ryhn Eleanor Green Ifor Heath age 57 19.7.1814