Moderator Control Panel ]

Royal Artillery 1855-1876

Having trouble tracking down a wartime ancestor? Share your queries – and help fellow researchers – here

Royal Artillery 1855-1876

Postby Jep » Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:33 pm

My 2 x great-grandfather, John Morrish Sanders POTTER (1837-1923) enlisted in the Royal Artillery as John Potter in Tiverton, Devon on 17 May 1855. He gave his age as 20 years (3 years older than he actually was). I have his original discharge papers stating he was discharged on 15 August 1876 at Athlone, Ireland, having served 13 years and 2 months abroad. His final description is of 701, Gunner, a groom by trade. His conduct was fair and he was in possession of a good conduct badge, the Indian Mutiny Medal and a third class school certificate.
Whilst John was in Deesa , India in December 1867 he married Margaret BLYTH (nee DEDRIDGE) the widow of Alfred Hunt BLYTH also in the Royal Artillery. Margaret had married Alfred Hunt BLYTH in Finsbury Middlesex in 1862 in Finsbury Middlesex. According to family lore John POTTER had been Alfred’s batman, but I have been unable to corroborate this.
Margaret was 6 months pregnant when she married John Potter, her daughter baptised Elizabeth Blyth was born in March 1868 in Deesa India. The child died in July 1869 in Deolallee India but under the name of Elizabeth Potter.
The 1871 census shows John Potter in Aldershot Barracks – unmarried and in 1881 census he is back living in Cullompton Devon, a widower.
My questions are:
When and where did Alfred Hunt Blyth die?
Would a wife travel out to India with her soldier husband and live in barracks with him?
When and where did Margaret Potter die?
Where would I find more information regarding service records for John Potter and also Alfred Hunt Blyth?
Jep

Re: Royal Artillery 1855-1876

Postby AdrianB38 » Wed Oct 29, 2014 12:20 am