Moderator Control Panel ]

Identification of cap badge WW1

Having trouble tracking down a wartime ancestor? Share your queries – and help fellow researchers – here

Identification of cap badge WW1

Postby Rich1 » Sun Sep 21, 2014 2:04 pm

Hi,

I have been given a copy of an old family group photo from about the time of WW1 showing a soldier. I think his rank is a Company Quatermaster Sergeant Major or CQSM, but can't determine his regiment from the cap badge.

I think this may possibly be a photo of George Henry WALTERS, who was a tailor by trade and rose to the rank of CQSM with the Royal Warwickshire Regiment in France in 1916 (aged about 44) shortly after which he was transferred in 1917 to "430 Agric Company, Labour Corps" in Norwich. I can't however find any similar looking badge to the one in the picture either for the RWR or indeed the Labour Corps.

Some of the other men in the photograph are wearing a similar looking badge on their lapels. Would this suggest that they had also served in the same regiment?

Any assistance in identifying the regiment would be most appreciated!

Many thanks,

Richard
Attachments
Walters Family Group edited.jpg
Walters Family Group edited.jpg (165.07 KiB) Viewed 2778 times
Rich1

Re: Identification of cap badge WW1

Postby AdrianB38 » Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:10 pm

There are several cap badges that are star-shaped. However, many of them have scrolls beneath and this doesn't. That still leaves one or two other than my first choice - for instance, the Devonshires have a star-shape with a cut-out centre, like this. Looking, though, at large clear photos of the Devonshire badge (and the small ones from reality can look quite different!), this badge seems to have a sharper set of points and the central ring looks wider than the Devonshires.

My best guess is that this is an Army Service Corps badge - cut-out monogrammed ASC in the centre, garter ring, sharper rays in the star-burst.