Moderator Control Panel ]

C R Wright 1st Battalion, Dorsetshire Regiment

Having trouble tracking down a wartime ancestor? Share your queries – and help fellow researchers – here

C R Wright 1st Battalion, Dorsetshire Regiment

Postby wmiles » Sat May 24, 2014 8:11 am

Hello
I have recently been lucky enough to find the service records of my great grandfathers elder brother Charles Reuben Wright who was killed in action during the First World War. They make wonderful reading but unfortunately I am not an expert on WW1 and am struggling to understand what part of the conflict Charles would have been involved in that resulted in his death.
I understand that Charles signed up for the Special Reserves of the Dorsetshire Regiment in March 1913, service number 3/6801. He was killed in action on 13th April 1917 and was buried in Savy British Cemetery, France. On his medical history record, it says that he became non effective by 'Killed in Action with B.E.F. France' (No idea what that means). :oops:
If any WW1 experts could possibly help me, whether you know the answer to my question or are able to steer me the the right direction, I would be so greatful.
Thank you in advance.
wmiles

Re: C R Wright 1st Battalion, Dorsetshire Regiment

Postby JaneyH » Sat May 24, 2014 9:03 am

I'm no expert, but I've also been delving into WW1 history as part of my family history research. First of all I'd look at the "Long Long Trail" website which contains masses of information about the Great War. Details of the Dorsetshire Regiment are here: [urlhttp://www.1914-1918.net/dorsets.htm][/url] You will also need to link his army number that you have to a particular unit or battalion within the regiment. This part of the Long, Long Trail should help: http://www.1914-1918.net/soldiers/findnumber.html