Moderator Control Panel ]

£1.50 Wills

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Re: £1.50 Wills

Postby Robbie J N » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:54 pm

It doesn't matter if they had a Will or died intestate, as sometimes it's just the names of the next of kin that I want to know, or even witnesses or things like that. Not everything is listed in the short description in the search pages. Plus seeing the signature of an ancestor, whether they be the deceased or one of the next of kin, is useful for matching up with other documents. Although, these are often absent for those that died intestate. (Sometimes not though.)
This was part of my first set of Wills that I ordered so I'm not that good with all the lingo about people dying intestate, and therefore administration not really giving much information about what relatives got what, etc.

A lot of Wills are, according to my father, not technically valid because people who witnessed them have not given their full names, which is supposed to be a legal requirement. By that, I mean just their first initial or both initials followed by their surname, as you are supposed to state your name in full. He has had to deal with the wills of several of his aunts and uncles, and seeing some of them in writing shows they were somewhat 'iffy' to say the least.
The witnesses to his grandfather's will, from 1967, were a cousin-in-law and cousin's son, but only their initials and surname were given, so apparently was not 'technically' valid. No doubt someone on here will tell me I'm wrong about that, or hopefully, confirm what I've said is accurate. Please confirm one way or another! (I suppose things may have changed over the decades so that now it is a requirement, but back then in the 1950s, when the will was first drafted, it wasn't.)