Moderator Control Panel ]

British India and 20th century Army records

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

British India and 20th century Army records

Postby SarahDevs » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:58 am

Is anyone able to point me in the right direction regarding records from British India and a lack of information regarding my Grandfather-in-law?

I have a FMP subscription with British India records but can find very little on him. I have some details 1909 - 1932 and then a complete blank until he pops up in Freemantle, W Australia in the 1970s. The family can be traced back at least 3 generations in British India so it's making it quite complicated (oh how I wish they had census information like in England!)

Apparently he was an officer in the British Army but I can find nothing relating to this. Marriage details put his occupation as stores audit in 1932 - whatever that might mean..? Is that military?

Full details are:

Norman Hector Elliott-Shircore (sometimes only Elliott)
DOB 22 Aug 1909, Bengal, India
Married 05 Oct 1932

That's all I can find.

Am I looking for records that aren't available due to data protection or am I just missing out on a whole database I haven't noticed?

Any help greatly appreciated. Thank you

Sent from my SM-G950F using Who Do You Think You Are? Magazine Forum mobile app
SarahDevs

Re: British India and 20th century Army records

Postby AdrianB38 » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:53 am

Yes, as a general rule, things get trickier post WW1 and any army details are slim and by chance, almost.

If he was in the British Army, then any records of service post 1920 remain with the UK's Ministry of Defence. They can be copied on application providing you have a death certificate and (preferably) permission from the next of kin (otherwise you don't get the full set of papers).