Moderator Control Panel ]

Scottish Military Uniform - identification help required

Having trouble tracking down a wartime ancestor? Share your queries – and help fellow researchers – here

Scottish Military Uniform - identification help required

Postby LorraineK » Sat Mar 10, 2018 12:31 pm

This is a photo of my ancestor Richard Ray born in 1878. I know he was in the Royal West Surrey Regiment during WW1 but I have been given this photo (original donator not known) which shows him posing in a photographic studio dressed in a Scottish uniform which I haven't identified. Is this is a genuine uniform ? If so, why, as he was in the West Surreys? Could it be some sort of dressing up ? Maybe the detail of the uniform being worn will give some clues but I have no knowledge in this field. Can anybody help please ?
Attachments
Richard Ray.png
Richard Ray.png (251.38 KiB) Viewed 531 times
LorraineK

Re: Scottish Military Uniform - identification help required

Postby AdrianB38 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:18 pm

I've not had chance to look at this more closely but here are some points to think about to start with...

1. How do you know that he was in the West Surrey in WW1? The records of that may help explain if you can point us to them.

2. How do you know that the photo is him? Sorry to cast doubt but you wouldn't believe the nonsensical identifications that I've seen...

3. The uniform does look like an authentic Scots regiment. But what I can't tell you is whether it's WW1 period - close, but could it be earlier? Dunno.

4. Is it possible that he was in the Army twice? West Surrey during WW1 but a Scots regiment earlier?

As I said, just questions not answers...

Sent from my MotoG3 using WDYTYA Forum mobile app
Adrian
AdrianB38

Postby Jethro Tull » Sat Mar 10, 2018 2:47 pm

Hi LorraineK,