Moderator Control Panel ]

Help needed to decipher WW1 military records.

Having trouble tracking down a wartime ancestor? Share your queries – and help fellow researchers – here

Help needed to decipher WW1 military records.

Postby phsvm » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:16 pm

Harry John Dore was born in 1878 in Berkshire. His military papers survive which show he attested in December 1915 and was mobilised in June 1916. According to his papers he had already served 12 years with the Royal Berkshires. His first service number was 26278. His papers refer to him as Henry James and Henry John but he was definitely Harry John.

I'm not experienced enough to feel confident in interpreting all the information and would be really grateful if someone could help me.

What I have gleaned -

He was posted to France in June 1916 (and promoted to Lance Corporal) with the 2/4th Royal Berks and in June 1917 transferred to the Royal Engineers 318th Road Construction Company. On 21 November 1917 he was promoted to Corporal and in May 1918 became a Road Foreman. He had 14 day's leave in December 1918 and finally returned to the UK in February 1919.

I'm not sure what all the other entries in his papers mean and I think there is something about him being injured. I assume the Road Construction Company were doing exactly what the title says - building the access roads behind the lines?

Any help gratefully received.
phsvm

Re: Help needed to decipher WW1 military records.

Postby AdrianB38 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:20 pm

His papers refer to him as Henry James and Henry John but he was definitely Harry John

Yes, I have relatives with the same problem - Grandpa was registered as "Jack" but was continually having his entries 'corrected' to "John"!

So - Harry John.... These are my additional comments: