Moderator Control Panel ]

divorced/remarried

Recently watched a repeat and discovered something new? Have a query about how the show is made? This is the place to have your say

divorced/remarried

Postby cc2016 » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:52 pm

First, sorry if this question has been answered in the past, as I'm new to researching family tree and have only just joined this forum.

My question is, how do you find a woman who has been married and re-married, ie. you have her maiden name and her first marriage name but no details of her next marriage (or subsequent marriages for that matter) or if the female relative is indeed alive or dead?

I guess it is always going to be difficult with females who re-marry compared to males.

Any advice anyone?

Many thanks.

CC.
cc2016

Re: divorced/remarried

Postby KayFarndon » Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:00 am

A woman who is divorced, will usually re-marry with her previous married surname unless she has reverted to her original maiden name and I suspect to remarry she would have to make the new surname legal.
You will just have to be patient and trawl the records, first to check that she has not died with what ever name you have for her and also to see whether she had re-married with either her maiden name or the name of her previous marriage.
If you know the areas then it should not be too difficult and parish records would hold the key.
KayFarndon

Postby cc2016 » Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:44 pm

Hello Kay,
Thanks for your help.

So, would you recommend I search deaths first (that is if she has died - she'd probably be 60 or so)?

I can't find anything except her first marriage and the fact she was divorced in the late 1970s, I've even tried her maiden name and I'm hitting a brick wall.

Thanks again.
CC.
cc2016

Postby phsvm » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:13 pm