Moderator Control Panel ]

Rotherham pre 1800s???? (PLEASE help me???)

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Rotherham pre 1800s???? (PLEASE help me???)

Postby Byron130 » Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:50 pm

Hi,
I'm new to this forum and don't really know what i'm doing!

I've been researching my family for 9 years and have finally got back to 1808-ish!
But i'm really stuck and don't know where to go from here.

Basically my 4x great grandparents Henry Morley and Elizabeth James were married in Rotherham on 25th May 1828 but this is all I know, how do I find the names of their parents? I have no marriage certificate, I got this information from a CD Rom containing parish marriages of Rotherham.

Would there be an actual document on film/microfishe in the Rotherham library that would have more info than just their names and date of marriage?

I've also tried to find a birth/baptism for Henry online but nothing comes up, so could that also be on film (he was born in Greasbrough in approx 1803).

All the info to this point has been done online and i've never had to look through parish records in the library before, so i'm very confused as to where to start.

Any help anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated.
Many Thanx
Byron
[:(]
Byron130

RE: Rotherham pre 1800s???? (PLEASE help me???)

Postby ksouthall » Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:56 am

You could try the Rotherham Family History Society on the link below. They might be able to give advice on where records are held. The link is:-

[link=http://www.rotherhamfhs.co.uk/]http://www.rotherhamfhs.co.uk/[/link]