Moderator Control Panel ]

I need help starting

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

I need help starting

Postby Mrs Milner » Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:52 pm

Hi
I've not really had much trouble with my dad's mothers side but my mums side and my dad's dad's side is proving a challenge. All I know for my Grandad is his full name was Peter Alan Mayfield and was born on the 24th March, I'm not sure where or when but I think it may have been 1927, I can't even remember the year he died. All I know of my grandmother is her name was Irish Tillings and was born in wales somewhere, her husband died when my mum was 10 so I nothing about him and no living relatives to ask.

Any ideas on where I can start with these searches? I'm still rather new to all this.

Thank you you in advance.
Mrs Milner

Re: I need help starting

Postby ColinB » Thu Sep 25, 2014 2:09 pm

Have you got your parents' birth certificates ? If not that would be the place to start. They will give you your Grandparents names and you can then look for marriage certificates and start to work back . Regarding Irish Tillings do you mean Iris Tillings ? If so there are a couple of records which may apply :

Iris Tillings Mar 1940 Bedwelty 11a 129

Iris Tillings and Bernard G Price Jun 1958 Bedwelty 8c 197

The above are just possibles - you need to start as I said and work towards them.

Colin
ColinB

Postby Mrs Milner » Thu Sep 25, 2014 2:14 pm

No I don't have my parents birth certificates. My mum had a falling out with my grandma when she married my dad at 18 and we only reconnect just before her death. We never found my mums certificate and my dad'd mum has no idea where his is and can never remember her parent in laws names and my dad can't remember either as he was young when they died! So I'm struggling.