Moderator Control Panel ]

Death Certificates

A problem shared is a problem halved. Post your brick walls here and see whether you can offer advice to others

Death Certificates

Postby ohforf » Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:00 am

Hi everyone,

I am very new to researching my family tree and would like some tips on how you look for the correct death certificates. Do you search every year from the last known date that the deceased was alive or is there an easier way? Sorry if this seems a silly question but I have only just got the family tree bug.

Martin
My other signature is much better than this one.
ohforf

RE: Death Certificates

Postby cathyhudd » Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:16 am

Hi Martin, if you have just been bitten by the family history bug be prepared for it to take over your life somewhat!
If you know the name of your ancestor you can go onto bmd.org.uk and do a search for the correct person using their name and likely place of death. They give you a list of possibles and you order a certificate using the reference numbers given. Although my surname was Smith I have ordered lots of certificates and only twice have I received ones that do not relate to my family. Good luck with your search. Cathy
Looking for information about:- Harpers of Northamptonshire, Warwickshire and Buckinghamshire. Whaymans and Goodings of Suffolk and Essex. Jacques of Leicestershire. Hudds, Pontings and Partridges of Gloucestershire.
cathyhudd

Postby FamilyHistoryAddict » Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:40 pm

Martin,

It depends when this person was born. Obviously if he or she was born a long time ago you can track them through the census to see when they stop appearing on it and then you only have a 10-year time frame to search for their death. This would be easy on a site like FreeBMD:

[link=http://freebmd.rootsweb.com/cgi/search.pl]http://freebmd.rootsweb.com/cgi/search.pl[/link]